You are here
Home > EVENT COVERAGE > Lights Out 11 Lights Up the Drag Strip

Lights Out 11 Lights Up the Drag Strip

Limited 235 winner Martin Connelley

Photography by Chris Simmons

Now in its 11th running, the Duck X Productions Lights Out event held at South Georgia Motorsports Park was shortened due to weather concerns, but the action on track was jam-packed.

Radial vs. the World winner Stevie Jackson

Stevie “Fast” Jackson continues to dominate the Radial vs. the World field as he brought home his second consecutive win for the class after taking the victory at the No Mercy event last year. Jackson had claimed the top qualifier spot earlier in the weekend with a 3.552 at 215 mph, with David Reese and his small-block-powered Camaro in second at  a 3.61. Those two would meet in the final round, with Jackson stepping up to a 3.548 at 213 vs. Reese’s 3.594 at 205.

Pro 275 winner Russell McManious

In Pro 275, California’s Roger Holder grabbed top qualifier honors in his Camaro with a 3.91 at 203 mph. Despite an incredible amount of competitive rides in the class, the final round featured number 11 qualifier Russell McManious and number 20 qualifier Brian Anderson. While Anderson would go on to claim low ET for the class with a 3.88 performance, he fell to McManious in the final round.

Norman Chang sat on top of Limited Drag Radial qualifying, nearly grabbing the class record with a 4.06 performance to take the top spot. In the final elimination round of the weekend, though, it was Shane Stack in his Monte Carlo defeating Andy Manson in his Mustang, 4.80 to 8.56.

X275 winner Rob Goss

The X275 class is always extremely competitive and Lights Out 11 proved to be no exception, as NMRA Street Outlaw racer Manny Buginga and his Mustang claimed the top spot in qualifying with a 4.229 over NMCA Street Outlaw competitor Rob Goss and his Dodge // Mopar Drag Pak which clocked a 4.236. By the time the final round arrived, it was still Buginga and Goss competing, but Goss edged out Buginga for the win, 4.539 to 4.599.

DXP Street winner Martin Connelley

In Limited 235, it was number-one qualifier Martin Connelley backing up his No Mercy win after defeating Austin Keen in a 4.93 to 8.68 contest in the final round. Connelley also entered the new DXP Street class in another Mustang and took top qualifying honors there with a 5.00 elapsed time among the 33 cars entered into competition. Connelley would face Jonathan Insley in the final round of the fledgling class and while Insley had the slightest of advantages off the tree, Connelley powered to the win with a 4.924 to 5.181.

The ever-popular Ultra Street category saw the familiar 2010 Camaro of Louis Filippides and George Farkouh take the top spot in qualifying with a 4.608 performance from their LSX-powered, Faros Supercars F-body. In the final round, Filippides continued to perform well, taking the win over Walter Drakeford.

In the 6.0 Index class, Craig Miller and his ’48 Anglia was victorious over Dustin Rowland and his ’88 Chevy Celebrity in the final-round matchup.