Prev Article Next Article

Mike Jovanis Claims his Circle D Specialties True Street win for Mike Jovanis

Posted By: Evan J. Smith
Mike Jovanis Claims his Circle D Specialties True Street win for Mike Jovanis
By NMRA Staff
Running in the seven-second zone with a real honest-to-goodness street car is a tall order, but Mike Jovanis almost makes it look too easy. Jovanis drove his ’89 Mustang to a 7.83-second average after three consecutive runs during the 25thannual Whipple Superchargers NMRA World Finals to capture the Circle D Specialties True Street title. 
After completing the required 30-mile highway cruise, Jovanis, of Wall, N.J., powered to three consecutive runs of 7.887, 7.747 and a 7.869 to achieve his average time of 7.834 seconds and capture the top spot. Jovanis managed to hold off a massive field that included 116 other drivers.
But Circle D Specialties True Street isn’t just for insanely quick Ford’s, there’s multiple winners in a variety of ET categories, so you can win in practically anything. Better yet, it only takes a 30-mile drive and 3-run average to get a score. Participants are really racing the clock so it’s a great class for first-timers who want to compete in NMRA competition.
When the final numbers were tallied, Jovanis was more than a second quicker than runner-up Mike Niehaus, of Grove City, Ohio, who drove his stick-shift ’86 Mustang to a three-run average of 8.717 seconds for the second spot. 
Randy Thomas of Paducah, Ky., was third quickest with an 8.743 average in his 2010 Shelby GT to capture the win in the 8.50 class. Thomas was remarkably consistent with runs of 8.75, 8.77, and an 8.69 to seal the win. 
Jason Wagner of Georgetown, Ind., scored in the 9.00 category with a 9.015-second average in his 2013 Shelby GT 500. Wagner ran an 8.70 on his first run and then made the necessary adjustments to slow to a 9.13 and a 9.20 to achieve the desired average. 
The battle for the 10.00 class was intense with multiple entries aiming for the bullseye, but no one was better than Bowling Green’s Shannon Doyle, who posted a 10.003 average to claim the win. Doyle also made adjustments during the three-run event, running 10.07, 9.96, and 9.97 to claim his win.
There was also no shortage of competition in the 11.00 class where Trevor Thorne of Eagle, Wis., claimed first place in his ’87 Foxbody Mustang. Thorne put together an 11.028 average for the win as his next four rivals all clocked averages of 11.11 or better.
Elaine Moistner of Dublin, Ind., has been nearly unstoppable at NMRA events this year with the 2005 Mustang GT she shares with her husband, Mike. Moistner cleaned house in the 12.00 class with a nearly perfect 12.003 average.
Moving down the list, Chris Lee, of Ovid, Mich., was also on target when he drove his manually shifted ’83 Mustang to a solid 13.003 average to secure a dominant win in the 13.00-second class. Lee began with an off-pace 13.38, but made up the deficit on the next two runs with a 12.92 followed by a 12.70.
The 14.00 title went to AJ Williams, Rossville, Ga., who also hit the bullseye with a 14.019 average in his 2004 Mustang. Finally, Luan Walker of Clewiston, Fla., returned home with the 15.00 trophy following a 15.203 average. 
Of the 116 cars that began the grueling True Street competition, 88 drivers managed to finish, including 16 racers that clocked averages in the 9-second (or quicker) zone. 
Each of the Circle D Specialties True Street winners received cash prizes and a trophy, while those equipped with the proper Nitto Tires were eligible for a bonus of up to $1,000.

join our

email list

You’ll be first to know about Race Pages Digital latest news!